February 11, 2015

Congratulations to Lennie and Jacob Boresch on their victory in the GIBA Doubles held last Saturday at Leisure Lanes in Davenport. They topped a field of 35 teams in a fun and challenging format that featured a 35' pattern on each right lane and a 45' pattern on each left lane. The remainder of the top 4 teams who made the round robin Baker format finals were Nick Heilman & Andy Mills 2nd, Jeff Richgels & Tom Hess 3rd, and Tom Adcock & Jason Queen 4th. The final results can be found here.


Congratulations also to Dean Wolf on his victory in the Bob Neff Memorial Triple Elimination tournament held last Sunday at Leisure Lanes. Dean topped Jacob Boresch 215 to 213 in the final match for the title. It took 16 rounds to determine a winner with a total of 48 entries. Finishing 3rd was Jason Mesecher with Andy Mills 4th and Tom Hess & Ryan Schlueter 5th. The final results can be found here.


The Blake Lobdell Memorial Tournament is coming up February 22nd at Cedar Rapids Bowling Center. This is our final tournament of the season and it features double points as well as a bonus prize fund for GIBA members who have bowled 4 of our prior tournaments this season. We will have more than $1000.00 in added prize money for the tournament, and an additional $2500.00 in added money for the bonus prize fund. In order to bowl for the bonus prize fund, bowlers must be paid GIBA members and must have bowled at least 4 tournaments this season. The cost to enter this bonus fund is only $20.00 and it will pay back a ratio of 1:2.5 so we will spread the wealth. Bowlers who have bowled 3 of our prior events this season will be able to enter by paying a $75.00 entry fee. All entry fees will be added to the bonus prize fund and paid back in full. If you are not certain how many tournaments you have bowled this season, you can either contact me or go to our website and look for your name on the point list where you will see either points or an X for each event you bowled this season.


We will be using a pattern other than the normal 'house' pattern for this tournament, and we are currently leaning toward choosing the 2014 USBC nationals team event pattern. Please contact me if you would like to reserve a spot!


Thanks to everyone who has bowled our events and made this season a huge success!!


January 26, 2015

Congratulations to Matt Smith on his victory in the latest Fusion Realtors Open tournament held this past weekend at Maple Lanes in Waterloo. Matt needed a mark and decent count in the tenth frame to top Marshall Kent for the title. The final scores were 223 to 218 as the last match lived up to the exciting matches throughout the modified stepladder finals. Matt topped Brad Miller in the semi-final match after they tied with 175 games. Brad finished the 9th and 10th frame rolloff first and totaled 38 pins so Matt who was on a strike needed a spare and a 9 count to move on. He got the spare and left a 10 pin on the count shot to win the rolloff 39 to 38. Other finishers in the top10 stepladder were Nick Cruml 4th, Gordy Kilpatrick 5th, Greg Thomas 6th, Tom Hess and Chad Nelson tied 7th, with Mike Peters and Brett Lobdell tied for 9th. The complete results as well as the modified stepladder finals are posted here.


You can also view the archived live stream coverage of the entire event at Insidebowling.com once it has been posted to that site. A huge thanks to Matt Turek & Ricky Matsko from Insidebowling.com for their great work on the live stream coverage. Also, thanks to Mike Flanagan for helping make the live stream possible!!


A quick update on our upcoming events. The GIBA Doubles coming up February 7th at Leisure Lanes in Davenport is nearly full with only 3 doubles team spots left open. If you would like to bowl, contact me right away to reserve your spot. The following day is the annual Bob Neff Memorial Triple Elimination tournament also being held this year at Leisure Lanes in Davenport. Many of the bowlers who are bowling the doubles on Saturday plan to stick around for the Triple Elimination as well so I look for a solid turnout there as well. We do have at least $500.00 added prize money for each of those events. Our final tournament of the season will be the Blake Lobdell Memorial on February 22nd at Cedar Rapids Bowling Center. This will be a double points event and for those GIBA members who have bowled at least 4 of our prior events, we will have a special prize fund with at least $2000.00 in added money for that event. We also will be giving out a dozen prizes to our top point earners for the GIBA season following that event thanks to the great support we get from Storm, The Bowlers Company.


Thanks to everyone who supports and bowls our GIBA events. Our entries continue to grow and we could not do that without the bowlers!!!



Fusion Realtors

Where we are bringing buyers and sellers together throughout the state of Iowa.

View More

Storm Bowling

The Bowler's Company™.

View More

Waterloo CVB

Learn about things to do and places to stay.

View More

Budweiser & Bud Light

King of Beers™.

View More

Rydell Chevrolet

The Home of Bottom Line Pricing.

View More

KingPin Bar & Grill

Located inside Maple Lanes in Waterloo, IA.

View More

CFNB Mortgage

It's simple, we are here for you.

View More

Diamond Jo Casino

Your kind of place.

View More

P&K Midwest

P&K strives to be a good community partner in our cities and towns!

View More